Posted by: Jared | June 19, 2007

U.S. Mint strikes new dollar coins without ‘In God We Trust’

If I had a Nickel for every time I wanted the Dime and Penny to be “Godless” …

June 19, 2007

PHILADELPHIA — It looks like the U.S. Mint has struck again – or not struck again, depending on how you look at it.

New dollar coins featuring John Adams are missing edge inscriptions including “In God We Trust,” according to the Professional Coin Grading Service, a rare coin authentication company based in Newport Beach, Calif.

The company said people have found hundreds of Adams dollar coins without the edge lettering, repeating a previous mistake. In March, an unknown number of George Washington dollar coins were struck at the Philadelphia Mint without “In God We Trust,” “E Pluribus Unum,” and the year and mint mark inscribed on the edge.

A spokeswoman for the U.S. Mint said the agency is looking into the reports.


…I’d have a Quarter, which would be without the praise ‘In God we Trust’, just like the nickel.

Bad attempts at comedy aside, It would be nice to have Godless coins. Its just not as easy to sharpie out the phrase on coin as it is on a dollar bill.

read more


Responses

  1. “In God we trust … to save me when I run out of the store with goods I haven’t paid for!”

  2. @ I’m not quite sure what your trying to say, but I think I agree !

  3. Well, consider:

    a person’s god is that which is most important to them (which is why TV can be a “false god” according the Nuns at my elementary school)

    to most Americans, money is one of the most important things, if not THE most important thing in their lives

    Thus:

    Money is America’s god

    Therefore:

    It makes perfect sense for American money to say “In God We Trust” as it implies nothing more than trust in the money

  4. fukadat shiat aint true nugga!

  5. What a shame you need to spend so much wasted energy on eliminating words which mean so much to so many. Try putting your energy to promote something positive like helping feed the hungry or build a home for the homeless. No you waste time on issues that cost taxpayers money which takes away from the real issues.
    I am a vegetarian because I do not believe in animal mutilation to feed myself when there are healthy alternatives. I certainly do not expect the rest of world to conform to my beliefs nor would I be so egotistical to think my way is the only way and try to force them to change.

  6. It wouldn’t take much time or energy to replace the master coin mold. Maybe we could use the the *”1955 mold” or any before.

    I think the original “E Pluribus Unum” fits the nation and the coin much better.

    As far as you vegetarian argument. The coin does not say “There is no God to trust” so its not forced. Now on the other hand “In God we Trust”
    fits your vegetarian analogy much better.

    *http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/In_God_We_Trust


Leave a Reply

Categories

